Loebsack tries to honor predecessor again - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Loebsack tries to honor predecessor again

Former Iowa Congressman Jim Leach Former Iowa Congressman Jim Leach

WASHINGTON, D.C. (KWWL) -- Iowa Second District Representative Dave Loebsack is again trying to honor the man he replaced, former congressman Jim Leach. 

Rep. Loebsack, a democrat, reintroduced a bill to rename the federal courthouse in Davenport as the "James S. Leach United States Courthouse".  Loebsack took Leach's seat after beating him in the 2006 election.  Leach served as 2nd District Congressman for 30 years and has been widely hailed for his service and ethics.

Here's the release from Rep. Loebsack's office:

Today, Congressmen Dave Loebsack (IA-02) re-introduced legislation to designate the courthouse located at 131 East 4th street in Davenport, Iowa as the "James S. Leach United States Courthouse."  Former Congressman James Leach represented Iowa in the United States House of Representatives for 30 years and currently serves as the John L. Weinberg Visiting Professor of Public and International Affairs at the Woodrow Wilson School at Princeton University, his alma mater.  Leach also served as the interim director of the Institute of Politics at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University from September 17, 2007 to September 1, 2008.

"Former Congressman Jim Leach is a native son to Iowa, and his commitment and accomplishments must be revered and honored," said Congressman Loebsack.  "For three decades Jim Leach represented Eastern Iowa with distinction and grace.  I'm pleased we can commemorate his accomplishments and years of service in his home town of Davenport."

The legislation has been cosponsored by all members of the Iowa House delegation, and will now move to the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee for approval before coming to a vote before the full House of Representatives.  Today, Senator Grassley introduced companion legislation to this bill in the U.S. Senate.

Powered by Frankly