Iowa City names Police Officer of the Year - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Iowa City names Police Officer of the Year

Police Chief Hargadine (left) presents the award to Investigator Zach Diersen (right) Police Chief Hargadine (left) presents the award to Investigator Zach Diersen (right)

IOWA CITY (KWWL) -- The Iowa City Police Department announced Tuesday Investigator Zach Diersen is the department's Police Officer of the Year.

Zach Diersen started as a police officer in 2002.  A deaprtment news release Tuesday stated "Officer Diersen has emerged as a natural leader within the department. He serves as an excellent role model for new officers in the field and eagerly communicates his opinions on a variety of topics for the purpose of bettering the department."

In 2008, Investigator Diersen served as a member of the Street Crimes Action Team. The unit compiled a total of 593 criminal charges that included 142 Felony arrests and served 53 search warrants for drugs and weapons. Additionally, Investigator Diersen has been tenacious in his support of both the Patrol and Investigative sections, providing valuable assistance by utilizing his contacts and confidential informants that have led to the closure of numerous cases and assistance on special projects.

While working as a firearms instructor, the department says Diersen significantly contributed to writing and teaching the newly formed Patrol Rifle Operator's Course. This year, Investigator Diersen was also selected as a team leader for the department's Special Response Team. Investigator Diersen continues to serve as secretary for the Police Association and has been active with Cub Scouts locally.

The Officer of the Year award is given to the officer who most significantly projects work and behavioral ethics that mirror the oath of honor and exemplify a positive image of the Police Department and community as chosen by the command staff. The criteria for selection include professionalism, sustained work ethic, personal conduct ethic, demonstrated leadership, vision, communication and compassion. The 2008 Officer of the Year is Zach Diersen.

"Zach Diersen has consistently demonstrated the highest standards of exemplary service for the Iowa City Police Department. His professionalism, dedication, and vision have earned him the respect of his peers as well as that of the command staff," the news release stated.

Online Producer:  JJ Murray

Powered by Frankly