Cedar Rapids Public Library Staff Receives National Award - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Cedar Rapids Public Library Staff Receives National Award


CEDAR RAPIDS (KWWL) - A team of 11 Cedar Rapids Public Library staff members for their extraordinary efforts to restore library service after the 2008 flood.

The Library Journal awarded the crew with the national 2009 Librarian of the Year award.

"The work of the CRPL management team to restore service and embrace the recovery is an inspiration for Cedar Rapids and for all librarians," wrote John N. Berry III, Editor-at-Large for the magazine. "For their courage, their indomitable optimism, and their deep and strong commitment to uninterrupted library service to the people of Cedar Rapids, the CRPL management team has been named the 2009 LJ Librarian of the Year."

The Library Journal recognized Interim Director Tamara Glise, adult services manager Karen Johnson, children's services manager Carol Hoke, circulation services manager Christina Riedel, adult services coordinator Rebecca Bartlett, external communication coordinator Marie DeVries, Iowa Substance Abuse Information Center's Barb Gay, It services managers Roger Rayborn and Leon Green, shelving manager Pat Schabo, and maintenance manager Jeff Krohn with the award.

The team was nominated by Susan Corrigan, President of the Library Board of Trustees and Christine Schuety, President of the Library Foundation Board of Directors.

To read more about the recognition, visit:


The library has set up a wish list on Amazon.com for books it can use right now at its temporary location. To make a donation, go to http://www.crlibrary.org/flood/index.html.

Online Executive Producer Nate Leding


Powered by Frankly