Cedar Rapids contractors to help maintain affordable housing - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Cedar Rapids contractors to help maintain affordable housing

Posted:

CEDAR RAPIDS (KWWL)-- Cedar Rapids is inviting all local and state professional contractors to help rehabilitate older homes in the community by attending a lead safe work practices training session. Flood-affected houses are in need of contractors with this specific training.

Linn County Public Health and the City's Housing Services are partnering up to  provide this training required by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban  Development for federally funded projects. In addition, the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) will require all  contractors that perform any kind of rehabilitation work in a pre-1978 property to take this eight-hour training course by 2010.

The course will include information about the history of lead paint use in housing, the health risks of lead paint, how to work lead safe, waste management and regulations associated with lead paint.

To register for this training, contact the City's Housing Services Office by calling (319) 286-5179 or by emailing Tricia Arnold at t.arnold@cedar-rapids.org. Registration is $10.00 per participant (payable to the City Treasurer).

The schedule of training sessions is as follows:

  • Thursday, January 15
  • Thursday, February 12
  • Thursday, March 12
  • Thursday, April 16
  • Thursday, May 14
  • Thursday, June 11
  • Thursday, July 16
  • Thursday, August 13
  • Thursday, September 10
  • Thursday, October 8
  • Thursday, November 11
  • Thursday, December 10

All of these training sessions will be held at the Linn County Public Health Department, 501 13th Street NW, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The schedule is also listed online at: http://www.cedar-rapids.org/housing/contact_information.asp.

Powered by Frankly