Cedar Valley senators will help lead Iowa Senate - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Cedar Valley senators will help lead Iowa Senate

WATERLOO (KWWL) -- All three state senators from the Cedar Valley will play leadership roles in the new Iowa Senate.

Black Hawk Senator Jeff Danielson will return as the Senate President Pro-Tempore. Senator Bill Dotzler of Waterloo has again been chosen to serve as Assistant Majority Leader. Senator Bill Heckroth of Waverly was also elected to an Assistant Majority Leader post.

This means legislators from the Cedar Valley will help guide the decisions of the Iowa Senate during the next two years.

"In times like these, we should focus on the fundamentals," Heckroth said.  "The fact that Iowa's budget is balanced and our reserve funds are full puts us in a better position than most states.  There is strong agreement among legislators that we should stick with keeping our current commitments and put off talk of new spending for when the recession starts to recede."

The leaders won their new posts at a meeting at the Iowa Statehouse of Iowa's Democratic Senators on Sunday. The group also re-elected Senator Mike Gronstal of Council Bluffs to serve as Majority Leader and Senator Jack Kibbie of Emmetsburg to serve as President of the Senate.

Other individuals elected to Assistant Majority Leader roles include Senators Staci Appel of Ackworth, Joe Bolkcom of Iowa City, Jack Hatch of Des Moines, and Amanda Ragan of Mason City. Senator Tom Courtney of Burlington was elected Majority Whip.

The 2009 session of the Iowa Senate will convene on Jan. 12. There will be 32 Democrats and 18 Republican State Senators. This is the largest Democratic majority in state history.


Powered by Frankly