Petition calls for fired UI lawyer to be reinstated - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Petition calls for fired UI lawyer to be reinstated


IOWA CITY (KWWL) -- A University of Iowa professor is circulating a petition asking officials to reconsider a decision to fire the school's general counsel.

By Wednesday, more than 80 people had signed the petition, which seeks the reinstatement of Marc Mills. Iowa President Sally Mason fired Mills on Sept. 23 after an independent review of the university's response to an alleged sexual assault of a student-athlete.

Political science professor Michael Lewis-Beck is behind the petition. He said most who have signed it are faculty members. Professor Lewis-Beck is taking petition name via his e-mail

Copy of the petition:


We, those of us named below, believe that the university leadership should reconsider the firing of Marcus Mills, from his position as University of Iowa General Counsel.  We disagree strongly with the method, timing and lack of due process, particularly in light of the decades of service, loyalty and dedication he has provided our institution.

Michael S. Lewis-Beck     F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor of Political Science.

John S. Allen.  Clinical Professor of Law.

David Hamilton, Professor of English.

Steve Duck, Daniel and Amy Starch Distinguished Research Chair, Communications Studies.

James Throgmorton, Professor, Urban and Regional Planning.

Michael Feiss, Professor of Microbiology.

James Harris

Audrey S. Bahrick, Senior Staff Psychologist, University Counseling Service.

Julia Leonard, Lecturer, School of Art and Art History and the Center for the Book.

Raymond Riezman, Henry B. Tippie Research Professor of Economics.

Brooks Landon, Professor of English

David Arkush, Professor of History

Jeffrey Nerad, MD, Professor of Ophthalmology

Shelton Stromquist, Professor of History

Katherine Tachau, Professor of History

Sara Sauers, Adjunct Professor of the Center for the Book

Brian Adams,  Professor of Orthopedic Surgery.

Daniel Benton, Financial Manager, Department of Pediatrics.

Nancy Hauserman, Professor.

Lon Moeller, Professor, Depmartment of Management and Organizations.

Catherine Ringen, Professor and Chair, Linguistics.

Jeff Murray, Professor of Pediatrics, Epidemiology and Biology.

John Rapson, Jazz Studies.

Ernest M. Found, Jr., M.D. Associate Professor, Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation.

Sasha Waters Freyer, Associate Professor, Cinema and Comparative Literature.

Henry Hoffman, Professor of Otolaryngology.

John Kramer, Associate Research Director, Department of Psychiatry.

Joni Kinsey, Professor, School of Art and Art History.

Paul S. Muhly.

Karen Fischer, Collections Analysis and Planning Librarian, University Library.

Len Sandler, Clinical Professor of Law.

Michael Chibnik, Professor, Department of Anthropology.

Marc P. Armstrong, Professor and Chair of Geography, Collegiate Fellow.

Peggy Timm, CLAS Support Staff. 

Nicholas Colangelo.  Myron and Jacqueline Blank Professor of Gifted Education.

Douglas Madsen, Professor, Department of Political Science.

Tom Lewis, Professor and Chair, Spanish and Portuguese.

Katleen Buckwalter, Professor of Nursing.

Kurt M. Anstreicher, Tippie Professor and DEO, Department of Management Sciences.

Jodi Sobotka, Senior Assistant Director/Legal Counsel, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

John Edward Reitz, L. Carmody Professor of Law, Associate Dean for International and Comparative Law.

Paula Kempchinsky, Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese.

Maria A. Duarte, Assistant Professor, Spanish and Portuguese.

Russell Valentino, Associate Professor and Chair, Cinema and Comparative Literature.

Steven Unger, Professor of French and Comparative Literature, CLAS Collegiate Fellow.

Carolyn Louvar, Administrative Assistant, Division of Interdisciplinary Programs, African-American Studies, Classics, and Women's Studies.

Rick Dobyns, Clinical Professor of Family Medicine.

Milan Sonka, Professor and Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Dennis C. Harper, Professor, Education, Pediatrics, Public Health.

Laura Kastens, Secretary, Department of American Studies and Women's Studies.

Nicole E. Louvar, Grants and Contracts Administrator.

Norma J. Ward, Program Associate I, Pathology Administration.

Anne M. Stapleton, Lecturer, Department of English.

Robin Paetzold. Director, Global Programs, Carver College of Medicine.

Susan Lutgendorf, Professor of Psychology.

Jonathan Wilcox, Professor of English.

Laura C. Prince, Immigration Specialist, Faculty and Staff Immigration Services.

Patrick W. Hitchon, M.D., Professor of Neurosurgery and Bioengineering.

John F. Fieselmann, M.D., Professor of Internal Medicine

Georges Y. El-Khoury, M.D. Professor of Radiology and Orthopaedics,

Adelaide Gurwell, Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine.

Cary Covington, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science.

Stephen Sullivan, Graduate Student and TA, School of Journalism.

Michelle Weckmann, Clinical Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Family Medicine.

Brad Van Voorhis, M.D., Professor, Department of Ob-Gyn.

Alexander Somek, Charles E. Flote Chair in Law, Law School.

Ellen E. I. Gordon, M.D., Clinical Professor of Medicine.

Joel Gordon, M.D., Sahai Family Professor of Medical Education, Department of Medicine.

Phil Lutgendorf, Professor, Hindi and Modern Indian Studies.

Jackie Jensen, Administrative Assistant, Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.

Dave Tingwald.

Steen A. Aquilino, DDS, MS, Professor, Department of Prosthodontics.

Jan Swartzendruber, Assistant to the Dean, College of Dentistry.

Jean Frazier, Classics.

Greg Van Dusseldorp, Facilities Management, University Water Treatment Plant.

Mercedes Nino-Murcia, Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese.

Ekhard Ziegler, M.D., Professor and Director, Fomon Infant Nutrition Unit.

Lawrence Fritts, Associate Professor, Composition and Theory, School of Music.

David E. Klemm, Professor of Modern Religious Thought, Department of Religious Studies.

David Rosenthal, Executive Director, Lower East Side Harm Reduction Center, New York, New York.

Tom Southard, Head, Department of Orthodontics, Dentistry.

Steve M. Collins, Professor, Electricial and Computing Engineering.

Bettina A. Hass, Assistant to Dean Sandra Damico, College of Education.

Susan Fullenkamp, Hospitalist Program Coordinator, Mercy Iowa City.

Jack Rosazza, Professor Emeritus, Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing.

Adrienne Hurley, Assistant Professor, East Asian Studies, McGill University.

Nancy Williams.

Janette C. Waterhouse, Assistant Dean for Operations and Finance, College of Nursing.

Barbara van der Woude, Iowa City.

Steve van der Woude, Iowa City.

James A. Ponto, Professor (Clinical), College of Pharmacy.

Carolyn Lewis, Administrative Assistant II

Denise Hamer, Secretary III

Jean Aiken, Secretary.

Laurence Fuortes, MD, Professor, Occupational and Environmental Health..

Dorothy Paul-Petersen, Visiting Lecturer, Science Education.

Linda Stearns Fisher, Editorial Assistant (retired).

Rhoda Cummings, Business Manager, Tippie College of Business.

Byron Bork, Lecturer, Graduate Program in Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science.

Steven L. Eliason, MS, Research Assistant III.

Paula O. Brandt, Librarian, College of Education.

Timothy Barrett, Research Scientist, Center for the Book.

John Raeburn, Professor of English and American Studies.

George Woodworth, Professor, Statistics.

H. Culver Boldt, M.D., Professor, Department of Ophthalmology.

Adalaide Morris, Professor of English.

Carol Scott-Conner, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Surgery.

Powered by Frankly