5 Linn County Supervisors run for 3 spots - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

5 Linn County Supervisors run for 3 spots

Posted: Updated:

Linn County Supervisors are preparing for a shake up as early voting is underway for the June 5th primary election.

The five member board will be going down to three come 2019, it's something Linn County voters decided in 2016. 

The switch comes after the board voted themselves six figure salaries three years ago. 

We spoke with Supervisor Rogers in 2016 after it was decided the board would be reduced. 
"I think that there's still a lot of bad taste in people's mouth about out salaries so they may see this as a way to reduce two employees," he told us at the time. 

Each board member currently makes more than $103,000 a year. 

They were recommended for another raise this year but the supervisors voted against the increase this time.

When the Board goes down to 3 Supervisors two of them will serve districts in Cedar Rapids and the third will cover the rest of the county. 

As for the primary, James Houser and Stacey Walker, both democrats, have to run against each other for District One. 

The winner between the two of them will be on the general ballet come November. 

Ben Rogers is the only person running in District Two. 

In District Three both Oleson and Harris are running but they come from different parties, Harris is Republican and Oleson is a Democrat. 

 "Neither Oleson, or Harris, or Ben Rogers for that matter have an opponent in the primary so it's certainly expected that they will be the party's nominees," says Linn County Auditor Joel Miller. 

Meanwhile people can still file to run in the general election, in fact Auditor Miller plans to run in District Two against Ben Rogers. 

Miller doesn't have to be on the primary ballet because he switched his party from Democrat to Independent. 

Overall the shake up will mean two current supervisors lose their jobs. 

You can vote early for the primary at the Linn County Auditor's office. They are open 8-5 Monday through Friday. 

Absentee voting is also underway. 

Powered by Frankly