Teen Trust members deliver grants to local non-profits - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Teen Trust members deliver grants to local non-profits

Posted: Updated:

Members of Teen Trust, a program of the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa, spent Monday morning not in their high school classrooms, but in the community for some hands-on education in giving back. The 26-member board consisting of Black Hawk County high school students awarded grants totaling $ 11,195 to six area nonprofits. 

Nonprofits receiving a grant for their community program include:

  • Cedar Valley Friends of the Family, Safe Shelter & Housing Stability, $1,250
  • Friends of the Hearst Center, Hearst Café, $550
  • The Job Foundation, Financial Stewardship Mentoring Program, $2,000
  • NAMI, Service for People with Mental Illness, $500
  • National Inventors Hall of Fame, Camp Invention, $1,125
  • Riverview Center, SA Crisis Response Toolkit, $1,250
  • YMCA, Girls on the Run, $2,000
  • YWCA, Parents Achieving Success w/Support, $520

Directed by a local college student, CFNEIA’s Teen Trust empowers and challenges high school students to address, identify and seek solutions to community needs while building a sense of social responsibility. The grant funds are allocated to Black Hawk County 501(c)3 nonprofit agencies to support programs and projects that address community needs and are within criteria that the students determine as priorities. Using a grant application system, site visits and training seminars, the trustees work as a team to decide which organizations to assist through financial aid or volunteerism. This unique philanthropic program, now in its 24th year, illustrates how teenagers can be vital community contributors now, as well as valuable leaders in the future.

“I am extremely grateful to have had the privilege to work alongside this talented group of young adults,” said Karly Izer, a senior at the University of Northern Iowa and Teen Trust student director. “I have learned so much from all of them. Teen Trust is an amazing experience that benefits everyone involved from the students to the nonprofits to the community.”

2017-2018 Teen Trust Board Members include: Cedar Falls High School - Abigail Keiser, Alexander Hanson, Emily Lehman, Kyra Takes, Marika Yang, Miranda MacGillivray, and Nathan Hoffman. Columbus - Elysse Trost, Anna Cutsforth, Dylan Mack , Jennifer Weber, Olivia Reiter, and Ryan Gilstrap. East High - Ayah Al-Durazi, Daniel Williamson, Elvina Ibricic, and Lesly Inarrito. Hudson - Emma Yoder and Katelyn Pint. Union - Isabelle Werner and Maddy Miller. West High - Allison Brasch, Delia Nelson, Elizabeth Smith , Emma Hickman, and Marissa Gates.

For more information about Teen Trust including how to get involved and apply for Teen Trust grants, visit cfneia.org/teentrust.

Powered by Frankly