Jack Whitver next Senate Majority Leader - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Jack Whitver next Senate Majority Leader

Posted: Updated:

Senate President Jack Whitver (R-Ankeny) has been selected as the new Senate Majority Leader in the State of Iowa. Senator Charles Schneider (R-West Des Moines) will become the next Senate President.
This comes after the abrupt resignation of Senator Bill Dix, as both the Majority Leader and as a member of the Iowa Senate. 
Speaker of the Iowa House Linda Upmeyer issued the following statement Wednesday morning: 

“All 59 members of the House Republican caucus congratulate Senator Whitver on his selection as Senate Majority Leader and Senator Schneider on his new role as Senate President.  We look forward to continuing our work together on our shared priorities as we reach the homestretch of the legislative session.

Together, with Governor Reynolds and Senate Republicans, we will move forward with our common sense agenda to provide Iowa students with a world class education, ensure Iowans have access to high quality, affordable health care, build a skilled workforce, and reform Iowa’s outdated and complex tax code.”

According to Governor Reynolds, Senator Amy Sinclair (R-Allerton) is the new Majority Whip and Senator Jake Chapman (R-Adel) is the new Assistant Majority Leader. 

Governor Reynolds issued the following statement: 

“I want to congratulate Leader Whitver, President Schneider, Majority Whip Sinclair and Assistant Leader Chapman for being chosen by their peers.

I look forward to working with them to continue the important work of building a better Iowa and unleashing opportunity for all Iowans.”

Powered by Frankly