Governor issues disaster proclamation for four more counties - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Governor issues disaster proclamation for four more counties

Posted: Updated:

UPDATE: Governor Kim Reynolds issues a disaster proclamation for four additional counties: Chickasaw, Dubuque, Floyd and Kossuth.


Saturday for Bremer, Buchanan, Clinton and Johnson counties.

This comes after severe weather on Friday and throughout Saturday.

In the proclamation, the governor allows state resources to be used to respond and recover the effects of the severe weather.

The proclamation also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for qualifying residents of the four counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $40,320 for a family of three.

Grants are available for car or home repairs, clothing or food replacement and temporary housing expenses.

Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery.

The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website.

Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

Gov. Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation on July 20 for four counties that were impacted by this same weather event which began on July 19. Previously declared counties were Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette and Winneshiek.

Powered by Frankly