New polling places in Johnson County - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

New polling places in Johnson County

Posted: Updated:

Today is Primary Election Day in eastern Iowa and for this election, some polling places have changed. The following information is from the Johnson County Auditor's Office.

"The Johnson County Auditor’s Office has permanently moved ten polling places since the 2014 general election. In addition, two precincts are returning to prior locations for the June 7 primary, and one precinct will vote at a temporary location.

Most of the new locations are required in order to meet requirements of the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) of 2002. These standards include requirements for parking, drop-off areas, and for maximum angle of ramps. These standards are above and beyond requirements of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990.

New voter cards were mailed to all Johnson County voters in early April. Signs will be posted as required by law at former polling places.

The following precincts will move to new locations:

Cedar Township: Solon City Hall, 101 N. Iowa St. (Former site Cedar Township Hall) Note that a new Johnson County Conservation building will be built near the Sutliff Bridge. We hope to move voting there once construction is complete.

Coralville 1: Coralville Public Library, 1401 5th St. (Former site Central Elementary)  

Iowa City 3: Mary Louise Petersen Hall, 304 Grand Ave. (Former site Quadrangle)

Iowa City 13: Hawks Ridge Apartments, 100 Hawks Ridge Dr. (Former site City Transit)

Iowa City 17: Our Redeemer Lutheran Church, 2301 E. Court St. (Former site City High)

Iowa City 23: Iowa City Community School District Administration Office, 1725 N Dodge St. (Former site Regina)

Jefferson West/Monroe/Swisher: Swisher Community Library, 72 2nd St. SW (Former site American Legion)

Newport Township: Celebration Farm, 4696 Robins Wood Ln NE (Former Site St. Mary’s Church)

North Liberty 6/Madison: University of Iowa Community Credit Union, 2355 Landon Rd. (Former site North Bend Elementary)

Oxford: Clear Creek Amana Elementary, 230 W. Wilson St. (Former site City Hall)

The following precincts will return to prior locations:

Clear Creek Township and Tiffin: Tiffin City Hall, 300 Railroad St. The polling place was moved out of City Hall earlier this year, to avoid a schedule conflict with city council meetings. The city council has now rescheduled its meetings to accommodate voting.

Hardin Township: St. Peter’s Hall, 2009 400th St. SW. Reconstruction of the hall is now complete.

For the June 7 primary, University Heights will again vote at the Athletic Hall of Fame, 2425 Prairie Meadow Drive. The auditor will make a decision on a new permanent site for University Heights before the presidential election.

Voters in North Liberty Precincts 1 and 5 will vote in the same building at 520 W. Cherry Street, but voting will be in the downstairs of the Recreation Center, rather than upstairs in the Library."

Powered by Frankly