Niang receives Karl Malone Award - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Niang receives Karl Malone Award

Posted: Updated:

Iowa State senior Georges Niang has been announced as the winner of the 2016 Karl Malone Award, presented annually to the nation’s top college basketball power forward by Basketball Hall of Fame. Niang was named the recipient of the award Friday evening on ESPN’s College Basketball Awards Show, which was held at Club Nokia in Los Angeles.

Niang, who has re-written the Iowa State record books, is the first Cyclone men’s basketball player to win an individual postseason award. He is the first two-time All-American in school history after earning second-team honors from the Associated Press, National Association of Basketball Coaches and the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Niang, a Methuen, Massachusetts, native, posted one of the great seasons in Iowa State history, averaging 20.5 points and shooting 54.6 percent from the field, 39.2 percent behind the arc and 80.7 percent at the free-throw line en route to earning consensus All-America honors in his final collegiate season.

Powered by Frankly