Battle of Waterloo Hall of Fame inductees announced - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Battle of Waterloo Hall of Fame inductees announced

Posted: Updated:
WATERLOO (KWWL) - The Waterloo Community School District has announced this year's inductees into the Battle of Waterloo Hall of Fame.

This year's inductees are Bill Tate, Sr., Bruce Woolsey, Marty Dickey and Lowell Lange.

Bill Tate, Sr. wrestled at Waterloo East High School after becoming interested in the sport in junior high. He finished third at the 1961 state wrestling tournament in the 138 pound weight class and then had a short wrestling career at the University of Northern Iowa. In 1971, Tate started a youth wrestling program at the Boys and Girls Club where he coached until 1980.

Bruce Woolsey began his career when he was a sophomore at the former Orange High School in Waterloo in 1961. Coach Ron Burnell recruited Woolsey to be a wrestler in the 103 pound weight class. He was named Orange High School's most valuable athlete for wrestling and track his senior year, the same year he became the school's first state champion wrestler. He continued to wrestle in the U.S. Army after being drafted in 1965.

Marty Dickey began wrestling at Edison School in 1963. He went on to wrestle at West High School where he became a state champion in 1966. He then went to Iowa State where he wrestled for two years. He wrestled for a year in the Army while stationed in Germany. In 1983, Dickey joined forces with Don Huff to start the Junior Wahawk wrestling club. He was a volunteer with the club until 1994.

Lowell Lange began wrestling as a 7th grader at Oelwein Junior High before his family moved to Waterloo. While at Waterloo West, Lange took second place at the 1944 state tournament before winning back-to-back state championships in 1945 and 1946. He then won an AAU national title the summer before heading to Cornell College in Mount Vernon to wrestle. While at Cornell, Lange became a three-time NCAA National Wrestling Champion and a three-time National AAU Champion. He was forced to sit out his Senior year in 1947-1948 due to injuries from a car accident. He was a member of the 1947 Cornell College wrestling team that became the first small, private college to win the NCAA Team Wrestling Tournament title and the National AAU Team wrestling title. As a coach, Lange spent one year at Cornell College before taking the helm at Georgia Tech University from 1964 to 1993. Lange is a member of the Helms Foundation Hall of Fame, Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame, and The National Wrestling Hall of Fame and has been elected to the NCAA Rules Committee and National Wrestling Coaches Executive Committee.

The inductees will be honored at a reception on Thursday from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. at the Dan Gable Museum located at 303 Jefferson Street in Waterloo.

Powered by Frankly