ISU trumps IA in heated Cy-Hawk battle - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

ISU trumps IA in heated Cy-Hawk battle

Posted: Updated:

Cole Netten hit a pair of field goals on Saturday. It was his second, a 42 yarder with 2 seconds remaining, that would give Iowa State the Cy-Hawk trophy for the 3rd time in 4 years.

The Cyclones had to rally from an 11 point deficit to pick up the win. Iowa scored first when Mark Weisman leaped over the pile on a one yard run in the first quarter. Jake Rudock's 5 yard run on an option play put Iowa up 14-3 in the second. Iowa State nearly cut in to that lead on the next drive, but Devondrick Nealy fumbled the ball away on the one yardline as the 11 point deficit held at halftime.

The Cyclone defense started up the second half rally as TJ Mutcherson picked off a Rudock pass. That would lead to a one yard touchdown as EJ Bibbs stretched low to make a grab in the end zone on a 4th down pass from Sam Richardson. Richardson then hit Nealy on a wheel route as Iowa State took their first lead 17, 14 late in the 4th quarter.

That's when it came down to a game of kickers. Marshall Koehn, who had struggled in the early season, hit a 44 yarder for a late 17-17 tie. Iowa State responded with a drive to the Iowa 25 yardline setting up Netten's kick, which he actually had 2 looks at. The first, which went wide left, was negated as Iowa coach Kirk Ferentz called timeout prior to the snap. The second kick split the uprights right down the middle.

The victory snapped Iowa State's early season winless streak, while Iowa would fall to 2-1.

Powered by Frankly