Presidential disaster declaration approved for 22 counties - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Presidential disaster declaration approved for 22 counties

Posted: Updated:

A Presidential Disaster Declaration has been approved for 22 counties in Iowa including Black Hawk, Butler, Cedar, Grundy, Hardin, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Poweshiek, Tama, and Washington.

Governor Terry Branstad requested the disaster declaration on July 29 after severe weather from June 26 through July 7 that produced damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, hail, and thunderstorms.

The declaration puts long-term federal recovery programs into action. These programs help public entities and select non-profits cover the cost of emergency work, the repair or replacement of damaged facilities, debris removal, loans for essential government functions and grants for public schools.

This declaration also includes funding that allows Iowa to conduct hazard mitigation across the entire state, minimizing the impact of future disasters by strengthening existing infrastructure.

Other counties included in the declaration are Audubon, Des Moines, Hamilton, Ida, Jasper, Keokuk, Lee, Mahaska and Muscatine.

This is the third Presidential Disaster Declaration for Iowa in 2014 and the 21st since March 2007.

Powered by Frankly