Three Hawkeyes named to Lombardi Award watch list - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Three Hawkeyes named to Lombardi Award watch list

Posted: Updated:

Three Hawkeye football players have been named to the 2014 Rotary Lombardi Award preseason Watch List.

Austin Blythe, Carl Davis and Brandon Scherff were each named to the list, which was released Monday.

The Rotary Lombardi Award is given to the best linemen or linebacker in college football. Past recipients include Aaron Donald, Manti Te’o and Luke Kuechly.

Players are placed on the preliminary watch list by earning All-American honors, being named to their respective all-conference teams or receiving 2014 pre-season honors.

Blythe, a 6-foot-3, 290-pound junior offensive linemen, started all 13 games at center in 2013 and received honorable mention All-Big Ten honors.

Davis, a 6-foot-5, 315-pound senior defensive tackle, was named second team All-Big Ten by coaches in 2013. He has also been named to the 2014 Bednarik Award preseason Watch List and the 2014 Outland Trophy preseason watch list.

Scherff, a 6-foot-5, 320-pound senior offensive lineman, started all 13 games at left tackle in 2013 and received the team’s Roy. J. Carver Offensive Most Valuable Player and Team Hustle awards last season. He's also on the 2014 Outland Trophy preseason watch list.

The 45th Rotary Lombardi Award presentation will be held on Wednesday, Dec. 10, at the Bayou Music Center in Houston, Texas.

Visit for more information.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at