Branstad adds eastern Iowa counties to disaster list - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Branstad adds eastern Iowa counties to disaster list

Posted: Updated:

Gov. Terry Branstad has expanded his disaster declarations to three more counties in the KWWL viewing area.

Benton, Butler and Tama counties have been added to the list in response to ongoing flooding and severe weather damage.

The proclamation gives county officials access to state recovery resources.

It also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for Tama County, which can provide storm damage cost reimbursement for homes with a total income of 200 percent the federal poverty line. For a family of three, that's a yearly income of just under $40,000.

Previous counties included on the list include Grundy, Poweshiek and Washington counties.

Branstad has also requested a FEMA damage assessment for 20 counties, including Black Hawk and Linn.

Powered by Frankly