Declaration of Disaster Emergency for Seven Counties - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Declaration of Disaster Emergency for Seven Counties

Posted: Updated:

Counties in Iowa are being declared disaster emergency locations. 

Wednesday, Gov. Terry Branstad issued a declaration of disaster emergency for seven counties due to ongoing flooding and severe weather that began on June 26, 2014. Branstad also temporarily lifted certain transportation weight restrictions and requested FEMA to conduct assessments in 20 counties impacted by the June 26 and the following storms. 

The counties included in Wednesday's declaration are:  Audubon, Grundy, Ida, Jasper, Keokuk, Poweshiek and Washington. 

The governor’s declaration allows State resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms.


Damage assessments will also be conducted in the following counties: Audubon, Black Hawk, Butler, Cedar, Des Moines, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Mahaska, Muscatine and Poweshiek.


This is the fourth  request that HSEMD has made to FEMA to begin damage assessments due to the June severe weather.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at