Gov. Branstad declares disaster emergencies in five Iowa countie - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Gov. Branstad declares disaster emergencies in five Iowa counties

Posted: Updated:

Gov. Terry Branstad has issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for five counties in response to overnight storms: Cedar, Lyon, Plymouth, Pocahontas and Sioux.

Resources have already been deployed through Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management.

Pumps and officer support for traffic control have been sent to Lyon County, and Plymouth county now has 20,000 extra sandbags. 10,000 sandbags were sent to Pocahontas County, and Sioux County now has 250,000.

Sand from the Iowa Dept. of Transportation was also transported to Rock Valley in Sioux County, along with an Urban Search and Rescue Team to assist with potential rescues.

The governor plans to tour storm damage in Lyon and Sioux counties Wednesday.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at