Gold Star Teachers to be recognized Tuesday in Cedar Falls - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Gold Star Teachers to be recognized Tuesday in Cedar Falls

Posted: Updated:
Dean Bostian Dean Bostian
Jane Frost Jane Frost
Jan Williams Jan Williams
Jared Pirkl Jared Pirkl
Jeff Welch Jeff Welch
CEDAR FALLS (KWWL) - The 2014 Gold Star Awards Ceremony will be held Tuesday night at the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center in Cedar Falls.

The event honors teachers who have been recognized for their efforts in the classroom.

Ten teachers in Black Hawk County found out they were selected in surprise visits earlier this year.

The 10 teachers are:
  • Dean Bostian of Union High School
  • Jane Frost from Sacred Heart
  • Jill Hennings from Kittrell
  • Mike Lewis of Hudson High School
  • Kelly Loughren from Cedar Falls Lincoln Elementary
  • Vera Magee from Orange Elementary
  • Jared Pirkl from Hansen
  • Sophie Phillips from Waterloo Lincoln Elementary
  • Jeff Welch from Bunger Middle School
  • Jan Williams of Peet Junior High
Tuesday's recognition ceremony is free to attend and begins at 7 p.m.

Although the event is free, you need a ticket to get in to the event. Tickets can be printed online at

All 2014 winners also receive a $1,000 prize.
Powered by Frankly