Fallen law enforcement remembered in Waterloo Wednesday - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Fallen law enforcement remembered in Waterloo Wednesday

Posted: Updated:

Law enforcement in the Cedar Valley met Wednesday outside the Veterans Memorial Hall to remember their colleagues who died in the line of duty.

“It's a fact to remind the community of what the officers do everyday,” Capt. Tim Pillack of the Waterloo Police Department said. “You never know when something might happens to one of us, and for the officers who have died, it is a great memorial for them. For the officers that attend, it puts that reminder in the back of their heads -- they may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice.”

A total of 12 area officers have lost their lives while on duty over the years.

The list of local officers who died in the line of duty include:

*John Bailey, Waterloo, 1902;

*Fred Widmann, Waterloo, 1908;

*William Goodenbour, Waterloo, 1920;

*Vinton Margretz, Waterloo, 1925;

*W. Fay Dilworth, Black Hawk County, 1932;

*William Mehlhorn, Waterloo, 1956;

*Gabriel LaFromboise, La Porte City, 1976;

*Wayne Rice and Michael Hoing, Waterloo, 1981;

*William Mullikin, Black Hawk County, 1981;

*Charles Whitney, Iowa State Patrol, 1985;

*Lance Dietsch, Iowa State Patrol, 1989.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.