Ten teachers in Black Hawk Co. receive Gold Star Awards - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Ten teachers in Black Hawk Co. receive Gold Star Awards

Posted: Updated:
WATERLOO (KWWL) - The 2014 Gold Star Awards for Outstanding Teaching recognizes 10 Black Hawk County teachers this year:

*Dean Bostian, Union High School
*Jane Frost, Sacred Heart School
*Jill Hennings, Kittrell Elementary School
*Mike Lewis, Hudson High School
*Kelly Loughren, Lincoln Elementary School- Cedar Falls
*Vera Magee, Orange Elementary School
*Sophie Phillips, Lincoln Elementary School- Waterloo
*Jared Pirkl, Hansen Elementary School
*Jeff Welch, Bunger Middle School
*Janadee Williams, Peet Junior High School

Fifth-grade teacher Vera Magee received her award Thursday afternoon. Magee has worked at Orange Elementary for 10 years, and said she was overwhelmed and honored by the surprise.

"Any teacher here could be a Gold Star Teacher," Magee said. "The kids are excellent, they work together, they're leaders. We implemented Leader in Me this year and those kids just took off. They're excellent."

The Gold Star Awards' co-sponsor, McElroy Trust, received 1,316 nominations for 531 teachers from students, parents and colleagues. The ten winners were selected to represent hundreds of teachers who help students every day rise to their fullest potential.

The program honoring this year's Gold Star Teachers will be held May 20 on the University of Northern Iowa's campus. The event is open to the public.

Free tickets are required to show upon attendance, and can be found at www.GoldStarTeacher.com.
Powered by Frankly