9 voters from 8 counties, including Black Hawk, disenfranchised - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

9 voters from 8 counties, including Black Hawk, disenfranchised

Posted: Updated:

The Iowa Secretary of State's Office has identified nine voters from eight counties whose ballots were wrongly rejected in 2012 because of mistakes on its database of ineligible felons.

The office said Monday that single voters from the counties of Black Hawk, Des Moines, Jones, Marshall, Muscatine, Story and Winnebago were affected.

Two voters from Woodbury County were also affected, as well as three previously identified voters from Cerro Gordo County.

All 12 of the voters were incorrectly flagged as potential felons when they showed up on Election Day in November 2012.

In every case, they had never lost their voting rights and should never have been on the felon list or they had their rights restored and should have been taken off of it.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.