Heroes Among Us recognizes Cedar Valley do-gooders - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Heroes Among Us recognizes Cedar Valley do-gooders

Posted: Updated:
Three-year-old Cailin Stickfort and mom Carmin Stickfort thank their hero at Heroes Among Us in Cedar Falls Wednesday. Three-year-old Cailin Stickfort and mom Carmin Stickfort thank their hero at Heroes Among Us in Cedar Falls Wednesday.
CEDAR FALLS (KWWL) - A dozen people were recognized as heroes Wednesday.

It was the ninth annual "Heroes Among Us" awards banquet in Cedar Falls, highlighting everyday citizens who go above and beyond to help others.

Ronda Eick won the Good Samaritan Adult award. She was attending a wedding last October when she heard calls for help and saved a three-year-old girl from drowning.

Three-year-old Cailin Stickfort was celebrating her sister's birthday with a pool party at the Clarion Inn in Cedar Falls.

Cailin went to the restroom, but her mom says she didn't see her come back to the pool.

"I just must not have been aware of it at the time and until a little girl said that Cailin stopped playing with her and when I looked over Cailin was floating in the pool," said Carmin Stickfort.

Stickfort pulled her daughter from the pool and started yelling for help -- and that's when Eick came.

Eick quickly performed CPR and soon Cailin gasped for air.

"I was completely relieved, just relieved," Eick said. "I prayed the entire time that it would be a good outcome. It was a very scary moment."

Wednesday, Eick was recognized for her heroic efforts, even meeting Cailin and her mom for the first time since the rescue.

"God obviously put them there for a reason," Carmin Stickfort

Cailin was unconscious for about two minutes, but if it wasn't for Eick's quick actions things could have turned out differently.

"Things happen. and you just have to be thankful that there's people there that want to help you," said Stickfort.

Other winners included Carol Boyce, Cynthia Grider, Tanner Cornwell, Karon Bennett, and William McNealy III as well as Diane Waychoff, Shawn Bram, Dustin Lindaman, Mike Brown, Mike Jenn and Kandie Vaughn.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.