Dubuque Co. winners: Haas gives Heavens hell - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Dubuque Co. winners: Haas gives Heavens hell

Posted: Updated:

In a close race, Dyersville Mayor Jim Heavens lost his seat to challenger Alvin Haas.

With 52 percent of the vote in the mayor's race, Haas will not be the only new addition to Dyersville city government.

Dyersville's at-large council seat went to Mark Wagner. He squared off with Daniel Willenborg, who left his third ward council seat to run for the at-large position. Wagner garnered 54 percent of the vote in the at-large race.

Also new to the council will be Theresa Bockenstedt, who challenged incumbent Robert Platz in the first ward. Bockenstedt had 57 percent of that race's votes.

Finally, in a write-in vote for the third ward, Ray Sauser will fill the position, having won 45 votes.

Speaking Tuesday night with the Dubuque Telegraph-Herald, Heavens said he believes the upset has to do with the embattled Field of Dreams development project.

Nearly 40 percent of registered voters in Dyersville cast a ballot.

In the city of Dubuque, the results were not quite so dramatic, with less than 11 percent of registered voters turning out. It was a night for incumbents.

Formally-unchallenged mayor Roy Buol won another term, though write-in candidate Jack Dunwoody managed to garner 21 percent of the mayoral votes. Buol won with 79 percent.

At-large council member Ric Jones retained his seat with 60 percent of the vote over challenger Rich Cannon.

Joyce Connors will remain Dubuque's Third Ward council member, winning 60 percent of the votes over challenger Jacob Long.

Finally, Dubuque will retain First Ward council member Kevin Lynch, who kept his position with 59 percent of the vote against challenger Deborah Borley.

Elsewhere in Dubuque County, Peosta has a new mayor.

Voters chose to unseat Dick Avenarius and install Larry Mescher, who won with 43.6 percent of the vote. Avenarius got 24.4 percent of the vote and write-in candidate Jim Weydert received 31.8 percent.

Peosta will also have two new council members, Jesse Begle and Karen Lyons, and retain incumbent member Ray Stephan.

Rickardsville's new mayor is Daniel Doelz, who beat incumbent Steve Cleary with 58 percent of the vote.

Other contested or write-in results are as follows:

  • Balltown's mayor is Herb Sigwarth and the five council members are Peter Dupont, Ron Schmitt, Shelly Schmitt, Sherrie Sigwarth and Andy Wilwert.
  • Cascade council member Robert Moriarity is unseated. The three council member candidates who won the most votes are Ed Recker (32 percent), incumbent Bill Hosch (24 percent) and Greg Staner (22 percent, six votes more than Moriarity).
  • In Graf, Bob Schilling won the position of mayor with five votes.
  • Dave Beringer won Sherrill's next mayoral term.
  • Worthington passed its local option sales tax, with 43 voting yes and five voting no.

All results are unofficial until canvassed next week.

Powered by Frankly