State softball tournament begins Monday - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings


State softball tournament begins Monday

Akron-Westfield won state titles in 2010 and 2011. Akron-Westfield won state titles in 2010 and 2011.

The Iowa state softball tournament begins Monday and several of Siouxland's top teams are heading to Fort Dodge in the hopes of going 3-0 and capturing a state title.

One of those squads heading to the Rogers Sports Complex is Akron-Westfield.

Ranked number one in Class 1A, the Westerners are returning to the state tournament for the 10th time in 11 seasons.

Akron-Westfield won state titles in 2010 and 2011.

Monday's Schedule:

Class 1A

#1 Akron-Westfield Vs. Janesville (11:00 a.m.)
#8 Remsen St. Mary's Vs. #4 Newell-Fonda (11:30 a.m.)

Class 2A

Ridge View Vs. #6 Fort Dodge St. Edmond (5:00 p.m.)
Lawton-Bronson Vs. #3 Durant (5:30 p.m.)

Class 3A

Estherville-Lincoln Central Vs. #1 Sergeant Bluff-Luton (7:00 p.m.)

Tuesday's Schedule:

Class 4A

Denison-Schleswig Vs. #2 Dallas Center-Grimes (1:00 p.m.)

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at