Iowa organizations eligible for low-interest federal disaster - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Iowa organizations eligible for low-interest federal disaster loans

Posted: Updated:

Some private, nonprofit organizations in Iowa are now eligible for federal disaster loans. The loans are available through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

The loans are available to nonprofits in the area of President Obama's federal disaster declaration for the storms May 19-June 14, 2013. Only nonprofits that provide essential services of a governmental nature may apply.

To begin the process, organizations should register with FEMA. FEMA will decide if the organization qualify's for a grant from FEMA or if the organization should apply for a loan from the SBA.

SBA will loan organizations up to $2 million.

The counties covered under President Obama's federal disaster declaration are: Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, Obrien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago, and Wright.

For more information, click here.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at