Former Cedar Rapids police chief to head lottery board - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Former Cedar Rapids police chief to head lottery board

Mike Klappholz Mike Klappholz

Former Cedar Rapids Chief of Police Mike Klappholz has been selected to lead the Iowa Lottery Board.

Klappholz, who retired from the Cedar Rapids Police Department in 2008, has served on the board since 2006 and served as chair in 2009.

Herman Richter, president of The Three Sons clothing store in Milford and a co-founder of the popular and mythical University of Okoboji, has been selected to be the vice chair.

The Iowa Lottery Board sets policies and rules for operation, approves the budget, and works with Iowa Lottery CEO Terry Rich to approve lottery contracts.

State law requires that the board be made up of an attorney admitted to practice law in Iowa, an accountant, a person who is or has been a law enforcement officer and a person with expertise in marketing.

Other members of the board include Deb Burnight, president and CEO of Burnight Facilitated Resources in Sioux City, Mary Junge, a tax and estate-planning lawyer in Cedar Rapids, Matt McDermott, an attorney from West Des Moines and State Treasurer Mike Fitzgerald, who serves as an ex-officio member of the Lottery Board.

Powered by Frankly