Black Hawk County teachers honored for excellence - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Black Hawk County teachers honored for excellence


Teachers are used to giving out gold stars, but this week a group of 10 Black Hawk County teachers received their own gold stars.

The Gold Star Awards for Outstanding Teaching were surprise awards given to teachers who were selected from 563 teachers who were nominated by students, parents and colleagues.

One of the teachers honored was Hudson Middle School teacher Linda Shapiro.

"This has been my life's work," said Shapiro. "There have been a lot of difficult times, but I care for my students, even though they may not think so at times, and I love my colleagues and working with them; and I will miss them when I'm gone."

Shapiro will be retiring from teaching at the end of next year.

Shapiro, in addition to the other nine teachers, all received $1,000 and will be honored in a ceremony on Monday, May 20 at 7:00 p.m. at the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center on the University of Northern Iowa campus.

The other nine teachers to receive the Gold Star Awards were;

• Renae Beneke, Science Teacher from Peet Junior High School

• Michelle Droe, Music Teacher from Lincoln Elementary School

• Jennifer Gates, Science Teacher from Union High School

• Ryan Haynes, Music Teacher from Fred Becker Elementary School

• Cristin Marshall, 3rd Garde Teacher from Hansen Elementary School

• Tricia Mayer, Math Teacher from Blessed Maria Assunta Pallotta Middle School

• Rhonda Rathe, 2nd grade Teacher from Dunkerton Elementary School

• Nicole Scharge, English Teacher from East High School

• Jake Young-Kent, Literacy Teacher/Coach from Carver Academy

Powered by Frankly