Hawkeyes send 9 to nationals, but crown no champs at Big Ten's - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Hawkeyes send 9 to nationals, but crown no champs at Big Ten's


Iowa will send 9 out 10 from their starting line-up to the NCAA wrestling championships in Des Moines.  The Hawkeyes, however, went 0 for 4 in the Big Ten Championship finals on Sunday afternoon.

The Hawkeyes finished 3rd in the team standings for the second straight year.  Penn State grabbed their third straight conference title.

Senior Matt McDonough saw his string of two straight Big Ten titles snapped after a 10-4 loss to Illinois' Jesse Delgado.  Delgado has beaten MdDonough twice this season.  Three others, Mark Ballweg, Tony Ramos, and Mike Evans also failed to win their championship matches.

The NCAA championships are set to be competed March 21-23 in Des Moines.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.