Waverly-Shell Rock wins district title advancing 9 to state - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Waverly-Shell Rock wins district title advancing 9 to state


Third ranked Waverly-Shell Rock dominated their class 3A district to send 9 wrestlers on to the state meet in Des Moines.  The Go-Hawks crowned 6 district champions including sophomores Nathan Sands and Bryce Steiert who both advanced with pins in their finals matches.

Waterloo West provided one of the surprises of the day.  One year after failing to qualify a single wrestler for the state meet, the Wahawks sent 5 this time around.  Junior Marcus Harrington led the way.  The top ranked 195 pounder got by #3 Adam Walther of W-SR with a 5-3 decision.

List of qualifiers out of the Waverly district:

106 Results
1st Place - Kyler Lowe of Waterloo, East
2nd Place - Nick Brockman of Waterloo, West

113 Results
1st Place - Nathan Sands of Waverly-Shell Rock
2nd Place - Mason Hubrig of Waterloo, West

120 Results
1st Place - Dan Kelly of Cedar Falls
2nd Place - Isaiah Mundell of Waverly-Shell Rock

126 Results
1st Place - Clint Lembeck of Xavier, Cedar Rapids
2nd Place - Austin Hosch of Epworth, West Dubuque

132 Results
1st Place - Bryce Steiert of Waverly-Shell Rock
2nd Place - Nathan Twito of Ames

138 Results
1st Place - Andrew Steiert of Waverly-Shell Rock
2nd Place - Jacob Showalter of Waterloo, West

145 Results
1st Place - Corey Abernathy of Waverly-Shell Rock
2nd Place - Dylan Gansen of Epworth, West Dubuque

152 Results
1st Place - Spencer Derifield of Waverly-Shell Rock
2nd Place - Dawson Nemmers of Epworth, West Dubuque

160 Results
1st Place - Hank Swalla of Ames
2nd Place - Morgan Hall of Epworth, West Dubuque

170 Results
1st Place - Thomas Foy of Waverly-Shell Rock
2nd Place - Sean Ickes of Xavier, Cedar Rapids

182 Results
1st Place - Nick Hagedorn of Cedar Falls
2nd Place - Kyler Mathews of Waterloo, West

195 Results
1st Place - Marcus Harrington of Waterloo, West
2nd Place - Adam Walther of Waverly-Shell Rock

220 Results
1st Place - Kaleb Staack of Waverly-Shell Rock
2nd Place - Brennan Koerperich of Epworth, West Dubuque

285 Results
1st Place - Pedro Gomez of Marshalltown
2nd Place - Spencer Williams of Cedar Falls

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.