Dubuque voters favor the incumbents, Democrats - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Dubuque voters favor the incumbents, Democrats

Posted: Updated:

Dubuque voters said "yes" to incumbents this 2012 election season, all of whom are Democrats.

Democratic state representative Pat Murphy won his second consecutive showdown with Republican challenger and local business owner Paul Kern. The men squared off in 2010, when Murphy narrowly beat Kern by approximately four percentage points. This year, Murphy widened the gap fivefold, taking 60 percent of the votes (10,057) to Kern's 40 percent (6,810).

In the first contested sheriff's race in 28 years, Dubuque County Sheriff and Democrat Don Vrotsos retained his position with 70 percent of the votes (33,451) to Republican challenger Mike Demory's 30 percent (14,618).

In other races, incumbent Democratic senator Pam Jochum defended her seat against Republican challenger Will Johnson, winning 68 percent of the votes (20,724) to Johnson's 32 percent (9,783).

Democratic Dubuque County auditor Denise Dolan will retain her corner office on the fourth floor of the county courthouse. She beat Republican challenger John Hulsizer Jr. by grabbing 68 percent of the votes (31,884) to Hulsizer's 32 percent (15,016).

Dubuque County supervisor and Democrat Wayne Demmer will serve another term after defeating Independent challenger Rick Stoffel with 74 percent of votes (31,051) to Stoffel's 26 percent (10,914).

The favoring of Democrat incumbents didn't only apply locally. Dubuque County voters elected to retain Democratic incumbent US Congressman Bruce Braley over second-time challenger and Republican Ben Lange, who narrowly lost to Braley in 2010. Braley, who won the entire Congressional district, received 59 percent of Dubuque County voters' votes (29,010) to Lange's 40 percent (19,520).

In Dubuque County, 57 of voters (28,600) chose Barack Obama/Joe Biden for the presidential team, while 42 percent (21,265) chose Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan.

75.3 percent of Dubuque County's 67,676 registered voters turned out to vote this year. That beats the county's 2008 presidential election voter turnout of 72 percent. 23,541 of this year's ballots were early votes, either in person or via mail.

These are unofficial results. Official results will be available after each county canvasses its votes next week.

Powered by Frankly