UPDATE: Black Hawk County issues burn ban - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

UPDATE: Black Hawk County issues burn ban

Posted: Updated:

On Tuesday, Black Hawk County issued a burn ban, joining 12 other eastern Iowa counties as the dry conditions continue.

Winneshiek, Allamakee, Chickasaw, Fayette, Clayton, Dubuque, Delaware, Buchanan, Black Hawk, Tama, Benton, Linn and Johnson Counties are all under burn bans.

The bans will continue until the area receives a substantial amount of rain. The forecast shows high temperatures continuing this week with only a small chance of rain.

A burn ban means open fires are not allowed without the permission of the local fire chief. It does not include outdoor fireplaces or grills.

Twenty-seven counties in Iowa have issued burn bans.  Visit http://www.dps.state.ia.us/fm/main/burnbans/index.shtml for a map of counties with burn bans that are in effect.

Powered by Frankly