L.A. Kings crowned kings of hockey - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

L.A. Kings crowned kings of hockey


The Los Angeles Kings are hoisting their first Stanley Cup in their 45-year history.

The Kings, the first eighth seed to win the Stanley Cup, routed the New Jersey Devils 6-1 to win the best-of-seven final in six games. The Kings went 16-4 during their playoff run and suffered just one road loss in the playoffs.

The Kings put the finale away early. They scored three power-play goals within a four-minute span of the first period, taking advantage of a five-minute major penalty on the Devils' Steve Bernier, who was given a game misconduct. Dustin Brown, Jeff Carter and Trevor Lewis all dented the net during the Kings' power play barrage.

Carter pushed the Kings' lead to 4-0 in the second period. Rookie Adam Henrique finally got the Devils on the board late in the second period. Lewis and Matt Greene finished off the scoring for L.A. in the third period.

Kings goalie Jonathan Quick stopped 17 of 18 shots he saw. Quick won the Conn Smythe Trophy as the playoff MVP.

Defenseman Doug Doughty said of the Kings' surprising late development, "We got used to each other, we developed a chemistry, and we just went sailing from there."

Forty-year-old goalie Martin Brodeur stopped 19 shots for the Eastern Conference champion Devils, just the third team to force a Game 6 in the finals after falling into an 0-3 hole.

Powered by Frankly