Gold Star teachers surprised by "prize patrol" - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Gold Star teachers surprised by "prize patrol"


The Waterloo area's highest honor in education has been announced – awarding the 2012 Gold Star Award for Outstanding Teaching to area educators. Of the more than 1700 nominations, 10 Black Hawk County educators were selected for their excellence in teaching.

Each was surprised this week with a visit from the "prize patrol" from the McElroy Trust, sponsors of the awards.  This year's winners:



Laura Angove, Talented and Gifted, Art - Hudson Community School

June Bahnsen,  Spanish Teacher -  East High School

Shelly Bromwich, Preschool Teacher - Malcolm Price Lab School

Cheri Grell, Social Studies Teacher - Hoover Middle School

Kay Konrardy, Health/Physical Education - Blessed Sacrament School

Carmen Nimmo, English Teacher - Bunger Middle School

Shelley Schlatter, Kindergarten Teacher - Southdale Elementary School

Mike Schmidt, Mathematics Teacher - Union Middle School

Kenton Swartley, Physics Teacher - Cedar Falls High School

Kim Vandendreissche, Kindergarten Teacher - St. Patrick Catholic School

The program's mission is to honor and encourage excellence in teaching and inspire outstanding teachers to continue in the profession. For their achievements, recipients will be recognized at an awards ceremony and awarded $1,000 in prize money.

The Gold Star Award for Outstanding Teaching ceremony will take place at 7:00 p.m. on May 21, 2012, at University of Northern Iowa Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center.  Tickets are free and can be ordered by calling the McElroy Trust at 319-287-9102 or emailing

Developed in 1989 by the R.J. McElroy Trust and KWWL-TV, the Gold Star Award for Outstanding Teaching has rewarded the excellence of more than 350 teachers in northeast Iowa. Many of the recipients consider the Gold Star Award the highlight of their career.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KWWL. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Sandy Youngblut at 319-291-1259. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at