Cedar Rapids Fire Department to honor 10 firefighters - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Cedar Rapids Fire Department to honor 10 firefighters


The Cedar Rapids Fire Department will be honoring ten firefighters finishing one year of service.

There will be a ceremony on Tuesday at 1:00 p.m. honoring Daniel T. Haas, Gregory S. Hankins, Austin C. Hershberger, Adam M. Kramer, Benjamin J. Kurka, Lucas D. Maas, Shane M. Mell, Justin J. Renner, Chad R. Smothers, and Matthew R. Weldin.

The ceremony will be at the Linn County Emergency Operations Center, which is located in the Community Training and Research Center on the north campus of Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids.

Guest speakers will include Cedar Rapids Mayor Ron Corbett, City Manager Jeff Pomeranz, and Fire Chief Mark English. The Mayor will administer the Firefighter Oath of Office. Chief English, as well as family and friends of the firefighters, will be presenting firefighter badges, service/name pins, and yellow fire helmets to the ten individuals as part of the pinning ceremony.

The ceremony will include the Cedar Rapids Fire Department Honor Guard, Fire Chaplains, and remarks by Shift Fire Captains who provided training during the rookie firefighters' first year on the job.

The first year in the fire service is considered a probationary period and the firefighters must successfully complete a training academy, as well as skills, examinations and on-the-job training throughout the year. The ten probationary firefighters were hired on March 28, 2011.

Powered by Frankly