Wartburg wins 20th straight IIAC Wrestling Championship - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Wartburg wins 20th straight IIAC Wrestling Championship


The top-ranked Wartburg College wrestling team won its 20th consecutive Iowa Conference Championship with its 193.5 team points Friday. This also marked the 30th title in program history.

Three individuals, senior Bradley Banks (Stockbridge, Ga.), Dylan Azinger (DeWitt) and Byron Tate (Clinton) all repeated as IIAC Champions at 174, 184 and 197 lbs, respectively.

Wartburg has had multiple winners in 22 straight tournaments with 2004 and 2006 seeing eight each. The program's all-time individual champion total stands at 185.

Tate's win marked his third individual conference title, the 14th time a Wartburg wrestler had accomplished this feat. In addition, the was the second 197 pounder to do this as TJ Miller accomplished this in 2005-07.

Co-head coaches, Jim Miller and Eric Keller, were named the Conference's Coaches of the Year. This marked the tenth such award for Miller and first for Keller.

The Knights look to win their ninth NCAA title in program history at the NCAA Championships in LaCrosse, Wis. March 9-10.

Powered by Frankly