Dubuque's Hanus, Zwiefel earn national honors - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Dubuque's Hanus, Zwiefel earn national honors


Dubuque Spartan quarterback Wyatt was awarded the 2011 Joseph T. St.Lawrence Award given annually to the most outstanding Junior in Division III football. 

Hanus threw for 3,490 yards and 44 touchdowns with only 8 interceptions this season.  The former North Tama Redhawk helped lead the Spartans to the Iowa Conference championship and the school's best record (9-2) since 1979.

Teammate Michael Zwiefel earned All-American honors from the American Football Coaches' Association.  Zwiefel, the Iowa Conference Offensive MVP, led the nation in total receiving yards (1,915), receiving yards per game (174.09) and receptions per game (12.73). He set a new Division III record with 140 catches this season, and is the all-time NCAA leader (all divisions) with 463 career receptions.

Powered by Frankly