UPDATE: Voters in Jones County elect new sheriff - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

UPDATE: Voters in Jones County elect new sheriff


Voters in Jones County turned out Tuesday to elect a new sheriff.

With all 10 precincts reporting, Greg Graver of Monticello has received the most votes.

Graver was on the ballot by petition, beating out both the Democrat and Republican candidates as well as a third opponent.

The winner of this contest will take office on October 11, 2011 after the results are certified.

Former sheriff Mark Denniston submitted his resignation in May saying he and his wife felt the time was right.  His last day was June 30 after 28 years with the department.  He had been sheriff since 1996.

Unofficial Results:

Greg A. Graver= 3,484

Rick LaMere (REP) = 711

Harvey L. Desotel (DEM) = 620

Scotty Shover (NOM) = 20

35% voter turnout

Powered by Frankly