Hawkeye men capture Big Ten track crown - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Hawkeye men capture Big Ten track crown


The Iowa men's track team sprinted to their first Big Ten Conference title since 1967.

The Hawkeye's runner-up finish in the 4 x 400 meters secured the crown, the first since head coach Larry Wieczorek was a member of the team 44 years ago.

Iowa scored three individual championships on the day, starting with sophomore Justin Austin.  Austin clocked a track record time of 20.46 seconds in the 200 meters to take home the Big Ten crown for the second year in a row.

Matt Byers was golden in the javelin, repeating for top honors with a throw of 235 feet, 4 inches.  Junior Troy Doris rounded out the Iowa trio with a triple jump victory following a winning leap of 53 feet, 8 1/2 inches.

Online reporter Mark Woodley

Powered by Frankly