Eastern Iowa seniors are semifinalists in Presidential Scholars - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Eastern Iowa seniors are semifinalists in Presidential Scholars program


Four Eastern Iowa graduating seniors have been selected as semifinalists for the 2011 United States Department of Education's Presidential Scholars program.

These four are in a group of 560 seniors selected from the nearly 3.2 million graduating seniors in the U.S.  Up to 141 will become Presidential Scholars.

The eastern Iowa students that were selected are David Y. Huang, Julia A. O'Donnell and Vivian L. Zhn of Iowa City West High School and Edna L. Jones from Fairfield Community High School.

"On behalf of the people of Iowa, I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate these fine students for their hard work and distinguished accomplishment," Gov. Terry Branstad said in a written statement. "These students' broad academic achievement demonstrates strong determination and a passion for learning that should be honored and recognized."

The Commission on U.S. Presidential Scholars will meet this month to review the semifinalists' applications and select the Scholars. The list of Presidential Scholars will be announced in early May.

The Presidential Scholars Program, which was created in 1964 by an Executive Order by the President of the United States, recognizes the country's most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

For more information, please visit www.Governor.Iowa.gov or www.ed.gov.

Powered by Frankly