Iowa Legislature approves redistricting plan - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Iowa Legislature approves redistricting plan


The House and Senate have approved the new congressional district maps and sent it on to Gov. Terry Branstad.

Gov. Branstad has not taken a position on the redistricting plan.

Iowa lost one Congressional district due to slower population growth than other states requiring the districts be redrawn and reduced from five to four.

Under the new maps, Reps. Tom Latham and Steve King are in one district and Reps. Bruce Braley and Dave Loebsack were left in another. 

Loebsack has announced that he will move to Johnson County and run for re-election.  That move means that Loebsack and Braley will not run against each other.

Rep. Leonard Boswell remains in his district.

The new boundaries put 41 state legislators in districts with another incumbent.

Powered by Frankly