Loebsack will run for re-election - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Loebsack will run for re-election


Rep. Dave Loebsack has announced that he will move to Johnson County and run for re-election.

On Thursday, the Iowa Legislature approved the new congressional district maps for 2012 and sent them on to Gov. Terry Branstad's desk.

With that approval, Rep. Loebsack announced on Thursday that he and his wife Terry will reside in Johnson County and he will run for re-election in a new district that includes 14 of the 15 counties he has represented since his first election in 2006.

"Now more than ever, we must stand together -­ fighting against a Republican Congress that seeks to undermine all the progress we have made in recent years. If they had their way, they'd jeopardize seniors' hard-earned health care and privatize Medicare, while giving special tax breaks to oil and insurance companies. I'll never stop fighting for what's right ­- putting Iowa's interests ahead of the special interests," Rep. Loebsack said in a written statement.

Gov. Branstad hasn't taken a position on the redistricting plan.

Under the new maps, Iowa drops from five seats in Congress to four, due to slower population growth than other states.

The new maps left Reps. Tom Latham and Steve King in district four and Reps. Bruce Braley and Dave Loebsack in district one.  Rep. Leonard Boswell remains in district three, and district two was left with no incumbent.

With Loebsack's announcement, that puts a single incumbent in three districts, while Latham and King are still left in the same district.

The new boundaries put 41 state legislators in districts with another incumbent.

Powered by Frankly