Disaster relief applications still being accepted - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Disaster relief applications still being accepted


DES MOINES (KWWL) -- Iowans affected by the 2010 natural disasters have through June 30, 2011, to apply for housing, business and unmet needs financial assistance through the Iowans Helping Iowans programs.  The Iowa Finance Authority, Iowa Department of Economic Development and the Rebuild Iowa Office with the support of the Iowa Department of Human Services administer the programs.

The Iowans Helping Iowans program is a three-tier initiative that was created in August 2010  to offer assistance to those in the state's 38 presidentially-declared disaster areas for individual assistance after the flooding in 2010. 

The 38 counties declared presidential disaster areas for Individual Assistance are: Appanoose, Black Hawk, Boone, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, O'Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, Webster and Wright Counties.




Powered by Frankly