Wartburg wins 8th wrestling national championship - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Wartburg wins 8th wrestling national championship


LA CROSSE, WISCONSIN (KWWL) -- With two matches remaining, Wartburg wrestling coach Jim Miller and the Knights were looking for a way to add even more to the programs 8th National title. Their wish was granted with two titles. One from junior 197 pounder Byron Tate and senior heavy weight John Helgerson.

Tate got his title in the second period after several takedowns against Jared Massey. He has won 50 of his last 51 matches.

Helgerson made his first trip to the podium, ending his career with a 21 match streak.

Junior 174-pounder Bradley Banks hoped to join Helgerson and Tate with a title but ended as a national runner-up.

The Knights finished with 117 points, besting the field by 28.5 points.

Online Reporter: Lauren Squires

Follow Lauren on Twitter.

Powered by Frankly