Six Iowans on College Football Hall of Fame ballot - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Six Iowans on College Football Hall of Fame ballot


IRVING, Tex. (KWWL) -- Six Iowans are on the 2011 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Former Hawkeye Marv Cook is on the championship bowl division ballot for the second year.

Cook, who played tight end for the Hawkeyes from 1985 through 1988, is now the head coach for Regina High School in Iowa City.

He was a 1988 consensus First Team All-American, two-time First Team All-Big Ten selection and a member of 1985 Big Ten Championship team.

Cook holds the school record for most catches by a tight end with 126 and was a 1987 Academic All-Big 10 selection.

Panther running back Carl Boyd is on the football championship division ballot.

Boyd played for UNI from 1985 through 1987 and was named First Team All-America, First Team All-Conference and Offensive Player of the Year in 1987.  He was also named Conference Player of the Week four times that year.

The two-time team captain gained 2,735 rushing yards and 1,987 receiving yards in his career.

A Panther coach is on the ballot as well.

Clyde "Buck" Starbeck coached at UNI from 1936-42 and 1945-57.  In that time, the Panthers captured seven conference championships in 10 years and played 31 consecutive conference games without a loss. 

Starbeck is a member of the University of Northern Iowa Hall of Fame.

Larry Korver, who coached at Northwestern College from 1967-94 is also on the ballot.

Korver led Northwestern to two National Championships, 14 playoff appearances and 212 victories in 28 seasons.

Korver coached 32 players to All-America status and was twice named NAIA National Coach of the Year.

In Division III, Al Dorenkamp, linebacker for Central College from 1971-74 is on the ballot.

He was named First Team All-America in 1974, First Team All-Conference selection in 1973-74 and captained Central to a perfect 11-0 mark and the Division III National Championship in 1974.

Also on the ballot is Mike Wiggins who was a punter for Iowa Wesleyan from 1983 through 1987.

Wiggins was named First Team All-America in 1987 and NAIA All-America in 1986 and 1987.

He was also named National Punting Champion for the NAIA in 1987.

Winners will be announced in May and then enshrined in the Hall of Fame in July.


Powered by Frankly