WSR's Krumwiede wins 3rd title, clinches team title for Go-Hawks - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

WSR's Krumwiede wins 3rd title, clinches team title for Go-Hawks


DES MOINES (KWWL) -- It came down to the final match of the night, and Wavery-Shell Rock heavyweight Cody Krumwiede didn't disappoint.  Krumwiede scored a 10-0 major decision over Bettendorf's Brody Berrie for his 3rd straight individual title.

Krumwiede's victory carried even more importance as it clinched the 4th straight team title for the Go-Hawks.

Waverly-Shell Rock crowned 2 champions on the night as Cody Caldwell scored a 9-3 decision over West Des Moines Valley's Trey Lewis at 152 pounds.  The title was also the 3rd in Caldwell's career.

Denver-Tripoli crowned a pair of state champions en route to a runner up finish in class 2A.  Dylan Peters repeated as state champion grabbing the crown at 119, while Brandon Sorenson followed suit with a state championship at 130 pounds.

Don Bosco's run of 5 straight titles came to an end as Logan-Magnolia secured the 1A title.  The Dons still picked up a runner-up finish despite crowning zero individual champions.

Other area State Champions:
103 Pounds
3A - Philip Laux (Iowa City West)

119 Pounds
1A - Tyler Shulista (Alburnett)

125 Pounds
1A - Christopher Halblom (Alburnett)
3A - Jake Hathaway (Iowa City West)

145 Pounds
3A - Zach Witte (Cedar Rapids Prairie)

160 Pounds
1A - Austin Even (Jesup)
2A - Kyle Lux (South Tama)

171 Pounds
1A - Jake Everts (Aplington-Parkersburg)

215 Pounds
3A - Connor Herman (Cedar Rapids Jefferson)

285 Pounds
2A - Austin Blythe (Williamsburg)
Powered by Frankly