Cedar Falls Police hand out awards - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Cedar Falls Police hand out awards

CEDAR FALLS (KWWL) -- The Cedar Falls Police Department held their annual awards banquet on Friday and honored several officers for their accomplishments.

Officer Matt Belz was given the 2010 Officer of the Year Award. Officer Belz is currently on 2nd shift patrol and is a firearms instructor.  He began as a Community Service Officer and was hired on full time in 2006.  He was nominated by his supervisors for his work ethic, public relation skills and team approach to police work.

Lieutenant Dennis O'Neill received the 2010 R.J. Voss award for Management Excellence.  This award is presented annually in memory of the late R.J. Voss, a former supervisor for the Cedar Falls Police Department. Lt. O'Neill has been assigned to all three patrol shifts, the investigative unit, bike patrol unit and to the Tri-County Drug Enforcement Task Force over his 11-year career.  He is currently on First Shift and is the Team Leader for the Major Incident Response Team.  Lt. O'Neill was nominated by his supervisor for his strong leadership skills and his planning and coordinating of major events in Cedar Falls.

Dan Clark was named the 2010 Reserve Officer of the Year. Clark, a paid on call employee, works full time as an IT Tech for the City of Cedar Falls. He has been with the police department for nearly three years.

Clark also received the 2010 Conger Award.  This award is given annually in memory of the late Dan Conger, former reserve officer with the Cedar Falls Police Department. This award is given to the reserve officer who works the highest number of hours for the year.

Lieutenant Dan Brown, Officer Kari Rea, Officer Mark Abernathy, Officer Nick Puls and Community Service Officer Kacie Schwake were all given an Award of Excellence from Chief Jeff Olson for their contributions to the police department in 2010.

Powered by Frankly