Big Ten unveils new logo, division names and trophies - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Big Ten unveils new logo, division names and trophies


PARK RIDGE, Ill. (KWWL) -- The Big Ten Conference has unveiled its new logo, division names and 18 new trophies that will be handed out, all prompted by the addition of Nebraska to the conference.

The new logo,  which was developed by Michael Bierut and Michael Gericke of the international design firm Pentagram, will be used for all sports beginning with the 2011-12 academic year.

"The new Big Ten logo was developed to symbolize the conference's future, as well as its rich heritage, strong tradition of competition, academic leadership, and passionate alumni.  Its contemporary collegiate lettering includes an embedded numeral "10" in the word "BIG," which allows fans to see "BIG" and "10" in a single word. Memorable and distinctive, the new logo evolved from the previous logo's use of negative space and is built on the conference's iconic name, without reference to the number of member institutions," Gericke said in a written statement.

The conference also unveiled the names it will use for the football divisions starting with the 2011 season.  The "Legends" include Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern, while the "Leaders" include Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

"'Legends' is a nod to our history and to the people associated with our schools who are widely recognized as legends - student-athletes, coaches, alumni and faculty. 'Leaders' looks to the future as we remain committed to fostering leaders, the student-athletes who are encouraged to lead in their own way for the rest of their lives, in their families, in their communities and in their chosen professions.  We're proud of our many legends and even prouder of our member institutions that develop future leaders every day," Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany said in a written statement.

Also, the Big Ten announced 18 trophies that will honor student-athletes and coaches who have contributed to the conference's history. Beginning in 2011, the Big Ten will honor its top football players and coach with the following trophies:

- Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy
- Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVP
- Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award
- Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award
- Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year
- Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year
- Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year
- Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year
- Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year
- Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year
- Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year
- Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year
- Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year
- Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year
- Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year
- Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year
- Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year
- Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year

"These trophies will honor our legends and leaders for generations to come.  The names on these trophies are fitting tributes to the hundreds of thousands of student-athletes and coaches whose hard work and dedication have contributed to the legacy of the Big Ten Conference over the past 115 years," Delany said.

Powered by Frankly