Medal of Freedom winners announced - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Medal of Freedom winners announced

WASHINGTON (KWWL) -- One day after presenting an Iowan with the nation's top military honor, the White House has announced the winners of the nation's highest civilian honor. 

The White House says former President George H.W. Bush, poet Maya Angelou and investor Warren Buffett are among the 2010 winners of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

President Barack Obama will present the awards to the 15 honorees early next year.

Other winners include a civil rights hero, Democratic Rep. John Lewis of Georgia, plus St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Famer Stan Musial, Boston Celtics legend Bill Russell, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and cellist Yo-Yo Ma.

Powered by Frankly